Skip to main navigation.

Meet Your Board of Trustee Nominees

Lane-Scott Electric has three Board of Trustee positions up for election this year. Running for re-election to the board are Paul Seib Jr. representing Ness & Rush counties and Richard Sorem representing Finney and Hodgeman counties.  There are four individuals running for the vacant position representing Lane and Gove counties. Lane-Scott members can vote at the annual meeting to be held on July 14, 2020 at 6:30pm at the Lane County Fairgrounds, or by mailing or returning the ballot printed in the Lane-Scott Annual Report  to our office by July 13, 2020.

* Balloting will close at the opening of the annual meeting.
* Write-in candidates must meet the qualifications of a Trustee under the Cooperative Bylaws and Policies for the appropriate position.
* If you mail-in your ballot prior to the annual meeting, you will not be permitted to vote again at the annual meeting. 
* Only one vote per membership.
* Election results will be announced in the days following the annual meeting.

Ness and Rush County District: 


Paul Seib, Jr. is the current Secretary of Lane Scott Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees and was elected to the board in 1975. He and his Wife, Shelby, farm in rural Ness County where they raised six children. Shelby had owned and operated a jewelry and clock store. She recently retired, closing the business and now gives her time to Church, Legion Auxiliary, and other activities. The Seib’s attend Sacred Heart Catholic Church of Ness City, Paul is a Knight of Columbus and served in the US Military. Seib is the Lane Scott Electric Representative to our power supplier, Sunflower Electric Power Corporation, where he is past Chairman of the Board. He is the past Director and Board Chairman for High Plains Farm Credit Services in Ness City, and on various boards including Western Fuels and Western Power Producers.

Finney and Hodgeman County District: 

Richard (Dick) J. Sorem grew up on a dry land farm in northwest Hodgeman County, on which he currently farms with his wife, Linda. They have two grown daughters. Sorem went through the Jetmore school system and graduated from the University of Kansas with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering.  In 1982 Dick returned to farm with his father and took over the farm when his father retired in 1992. He is a past member of The Farmers State Bank Board of Directors.  In his spare time, he enjoys bicycling, hunting and any activities that involve his children. Dick joined the Lane-Scott Board of Trustees in 2002.

Lane and Gove County District: 

Billie Barnett Jr. is a lifetime resident of Lane County. He currently works as the Lane County Emergency Manager. In addition to the Emergency Management position, he serves as the Lane County Fire Chief.  He's  served the Lane County community for many years and would like to continue taking an active role in the ongoing improvements of Lane County and the surrounding counties. If elected as a member of the Lane Scott Electric Board of Trustees, he would make every effort to improve the community by offering hiswork experience and learning more about how Lane Scott Electric can continue to help our communities. 

Alan Berndt grew up in Dighton and attended Dighton schools, after high school attended Fort Hays State University earning a degree in Applied Engineering with a minor in Education.  After college he spent 10 years teaching between Clay Center KS and Dighton before starting a trucking business.  His family includes wife Brandee and three children ranging in age from 5 to 14. 


Randy Evans was born and raised in western Kansas.  He attended schools in Scott County, Healy High School and Garden City Junior College.  After being in management for 15 years with City Market in western Colorado, Randy decided to go into business for himself as an Independent Business Owner with the Amway opportunity.  People skills, personal development and success principles were learned and taught to his sizable, profitable organization.  Other business endeavors currently include a fruit distribution business from Colorado, rentals, and management of a farm and silage pushing business, all located in Dighton, KS. He is married to Marla who owns and operates Changes Salon in Dighton.  They have three grown and married children and six grandchildren.  Serving as board member in the past has included a church board and a Chamber of Commerce board, both as a member and president.  He attributes his success by living Christian principles and values, along with promoting and living as a conservative, patriotic citizen.  Randy is honored to even be asked to serve the cooperative.  And if elected, he would do his best to serve the people according to how he has lived his life by adding value to others.

Neil Wilson is a graduate of Healy High School and Fort Hays State University receiving a degree in Business Administration – Management.  He currently serves as the Chief Lending Officer at First State Bank of Healy and also operates a farm in Northwest Lane / Southwest Gove counties.  His business experience includes multiple administrative and financial managerial positions within the healthcare and finance industries.  His director experience includes representation for both public and private sector organizations.  He resides in rural Lane County with his wife, Allison.  He desires to serve on the Lane-Scott Electric Board of Trustees to utilize his skills and experience to help ensure the continued stability and viability of a vital organization in the area which he lives and works. 


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo