Skip to main navigation.

LSEC Receives No Time Lost Award




Topeka, Kansas –


On Monday, Jan. 29, 2019, Kansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (KEC) presented 2018 No Lost Time Accident awards to the following Kansas electric cooperatives: Ark Valley, South Hutchinson; Bluestem, Wamego; Butler, El Dorado; Caney Valley, Cedar Vale; CMS, Meade; Doniphan, Troy; DS&O, Solomon; Flint Hills, Council Grove; KEPCo, Topeka; Lane-Scott, Dighton; Lyon-Coffey, Lebo; Nemaha-Marshall, Axtell; Ninnescah, Pratt; Pioneer, Ulysses; Radiant, Fredonia; Sedgwick County, Cheney; Sumner-Cowley, Wellington; Twin Valley, Altamont; and Victory, Dodge City.


To receive a No Lost Time Accident Award, cooperatives must complete a full year without an employee missing an eight-hour day of work due to a work-related accident. This award recognizes cooperatives’ dedication to their employees’ safety and the co-ops’ commitment to cultivating a culture of safety. Excellent safety records also allow electric co-ops to better control losses and overall expenses of the cooperative.


The awards were presented by Larry Detwiler, Director of Loss Control, Safety and Compliance for KEC.


“This award recognizes members’ outstanding efforts in developing a safety culture and in providing a safe workplace from recognized hazards. It is significant because it recognizes commitment to bringing everyone home safely at the end of the day,” Detwiler said.


Additionally, KEC awarded Safety Achievement Certificates to the following five cooperatives: Bluestem, Brown-Atchison, Horton; DS&O, Lane-Scott; and Western, WaKeeney.


Participation in the Rural Electric Safety Achievement program is voluntary through the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and established to recognize cooperatives that meet additional requirements beyond numerous standards and regulations in the utility industry.


Cooperatives requalify for this program every three years when visited by industry safety professionals who observe and inspect the cooperative’s facilities, vehicles, substations, overhead/ underground lines, records and work of crews. Following the site visits, cooperatives prepare a safety improvement plan to put into action and can modify the safety improvement plan annually.


Currently, 22 KEC members participate in the Safety Achievement program.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo